WeTab presents the first tablet with open operating system MeeGo

Berlin (Germany) – September 3, 2010 – At a press conference hosted by its technology partner Intel, WeTab GmbH has announced the technological basis for its tablet computer, the WeTab, developed in cooperation with Intel, going public just in time for the IFA international trade fair for consumer electronics in Berlin. The WeTab, which will come on to the German market already in September, is the first tablet worldwide based on MeeGo.

WeTab OS, the WeTab operating system, is based on the free Linux distribution MeeGo and integrates runtime environments for various other technologies. As such, in addition to native Linux apps, many other applications can run on the WeTab, including Android™ apps, Adobe® Air® applications and MeeGo apps. Those apps that are interesting for the user have been compiled and are available on the WeTab Market, from where they can be loaded directly onto the WeTab. This means that developers can program in the languages they are familiar with and users can choose from an abundance of very different applications.

“Working intensively with Intel, we have developed the WeTab OS with MeeGo to meet the requirements of a tablet user in the best way possible. The tablet runs extremely fast and, in addition to native apps, also provides direct access to countless Web-based apps”, says Stephan Odörfer, Managing Director of 4tiitoo AG, which is are also involved in this joint venture with WeTab GmbH. The Web-browser plays a special role here and is based on the free HTML rendering engine WebKit, enabling fast and unrestricted surfing enjoyment including HTML5, Adobe Flash® and Java™.

Wolfgang Petersen, Director of Intel Software and Services Group at Intel Deutschland GmbH, says: “The WeTab is the first tablet based on MeeGo and the Intel® Atom™ processor. MeeGo is designed for a broad range of devices. Implementing MeeGo on the WeTab shows just how the operating system can be adapted for use on a tablet.”

WeTab präsentiert erstes Tablet mit offenem Betriebssystem MeeGo

Berlin, 3. September 2010 – Anlässlich der Internationalen Funkausstellung IFA in Berlin hat die WeTab GmbH bei einer Presseveranstaltung ihres Technologiepartners Intel die technologische Basis für ihren Tablet Computer bekannt gegeben. WeTab, das noch im September auf den deutschen Markt kommt, ist weltweit das erste auf MeeGo basierende Tablet.

WeTab OS, das Betriebssytem des WeTab, basiert auf der freien Linux Distribution MeeGo und integriert Laufzeitumgebungen für verschiedene weitere Technologien. Damit sind neben nativen Linux-Apps auch viele andere Applikationen auf dem WeTab lauffähig, darunter Android™ Apps, Adobe® Air® Anwendungen, und MeeGo Apps. Die für die Nutzer interessantesten Apps stehen zusammengefasst im WeTab Market zur Verfügung und können hieraus direkt auf das WeTab geladen werden. Entwickler können so in den ihnen vertrauten Sprachen programmieren und Nutzer haben die Wahl aus einer Fülle verschiedenster Anwendungen.

“Zusammen mit Intel haben wir in intensiver Entwicklungsarbeit das WeTab OS mit MeeGo für die Anforderungen eines Tablet-Nutzers optimiert. Es läuft äußerst schnell und zuverlässig und bietet neben nativen Apps auch direkten Zugriff auf unzählige webbasierte Apps.”, sagt Stephan Odörfer, Vorstand der 4tiitoo AG, die am Joint Venture WeTab GmbH beteiligt ist. Dazu trägt insbesondere auch der Webbrowser bei, der beim WeTab auf der freien HTML-Rendering Bibliothek WebKit basiert und schnelles und komplettes Surfvergnügen inklusive HTML5, Adobe Flash® und Java™ ermöglicht.

Wolfgang Petersen, Director Intel Software and Services Group bei der Intel Deutschland GmbH, sagt: “Das WeTab ist das erste Tablet, das auf MeeGo und dem Intel® Atom™ Prozessor basiert. MeeGo ist für eine breite Palette von Geräten konzipiert. Die Implementierung von Meego auf dem WeTab zeigt, wie das Betriebssystem für die Anwendung auf einem Tablet angepasst werden kann.“